Ieke van den Burg Prize

Ieke van den Burg Prize

The ASC awards an annual prize to recognise outstanding research conducted by young scholars on a topic related to the ESRB’s mission.

The prize was established in memory of Ieke van den Burg, who was a member of the inaugural ASC between 2011 and 2014 and a member of the European Parliament between 1999 and 2009. Ms van den Burg was dedicated to the notion that finance should serve society, and the prize is administered in that spirit.

Edition 2022

Call for papers

Deadline for submission: 31 March 2022

Edition 2021

Awarded paper

Credit allocation and macroeconomic fluctuations

Karsten Müller, Emil Verner


Presentation of the awarded paper by Karsten Müller And Emil Verner

Remarks by Șebnem Kalemli-Özcan

Remarks by Philipp Hartmann

Virtual award ceremony (1 October 2021)

Edition 2020

Awarded paper

Multiple Credit Constraints and Time-Varying Macroeconomic Dynamics
Marcus Mølbak Ingholt

Virtual award ceremony (1 October 2020)

Edition 2019

Awarded papers

Strategic Liquidity Mismatch and Financial Sector Stability
André F. Silva

The Value of Central Clearing
Guillaume Vuillemey

Edition 2018

Awarded paper

Disentangling the Effects of a Banking Crisis: Evidence from German Firms and Counties
Kilian Huber

Edition 2017

Awarded paper

Compressing over-the-counter markets
Marco D’Errico, Tarik Roukny

Edition 2016

Awarded papers

Runner-up papers

Edition 2015

Awarded paper

The Motives For Financial Complexity: An Empirical Investigation
Claire Célérier, Boris Vallée

Runner-up papers