Award of the 2020 Ieke van den Burg Prize for research on systemic risk

5 October 2020

Following a highly competitive selection process involving peer reviews conducted by members of the Advisory Scientific Committee (ASC), the 2020 Ieke van den Burg Prize for research on systemic risk was awarded to Marcus Mølbak Ingholt for his paper entitled “Multiple credit constraints and time-varying macroeconomic dynamics”.

The prize was awarded by means of a remote webcast, which took place on 1 October 2020 and which was chaired by Professor Javier Suarez, Chair of the ASC. A video of the event is available on the ESRB’s website.

The ASC also decided to acknowledge the commendable quality of four additional papers which were the runners-up:

  • “If the cap fits: the impact of the LTI flow limit in the UK mortgage market”, by Adiya Belgibayeva.
  • “Too many voters to fail: influencing and political bargaining for bailouts”, by Linda M. Schilling.
  • “Seniority and systemic risk: the effect of insolvency netting on the probability of bank-runs”, by Oren Schneorson.
  • “Capital requirements in a model of bank runs: the 2008 run on repo”, by Luis A. Simon.

In addition, some of the shortlisted papers will also be published as part of the ESRB Working Paper Series.

For media queries, please contact William Lelieveldt, tel.: +49 69 1344 7316.