Search Options
Home Media Explainers Research & Publications Statistics Monetary Policy The €uro Payments & Markets Careers
Sort by

Banking supervision glossary

national competent authority (NCA)

A public authority or body officially recognised by national law, which is empowered by national law to supervise institutions as part of the supervisory system in operation in the Member State concerned.


See national competent authority (NCA)

non-objection procedure

Standard decision-making process established by the SSM Regulation for the ECB’s supervisory activities. The ECB’s Supervisory Board takes draft decisions, which are submitted to the ECB’s Governing Council for adoption. Decisions are deemed to be adopted unless the Governing Council objects within a defined period of time, not exceeding ten working days.

non-performing loans (NPLs)

Under paragraph 145 of Annex V of the EBA ITS on Supervisory Reporting, these are loans that satisfy either or both of the following criteria: (a) material exposures which are more than 90 days past due; (b) the debtor is assessed as unlikely to pay its credit obligations in full without realisation of collateral, regardless of the existence of any past-due amount or of the number of days past due.

normative internal ICAAP perspective (normative perspective)

A multi-year ICAAP perspective under which the institution manages its capital adequacy by ensuring that it is able to fulfil all of its capital-related legal requirements and supervisory demands and cope with other internal and external capital constraints on an ongoing basis. A similar concept exists for the ILAAP. See also Internal Capital Adequacy Assessment Process (ICAAP), Internal Liquidity Adequacy Assessment Process (ILAAP)

normative perspective

See normative internal ICAAP perspective (normative perspective)


non-performing exposure


See non-performing loans (NPLs)


national resolution authority


national supervisory authority