

The "leke van den Burg Prize for Research on Systemic Risk" awarded by the ESRB Advisory Scientific Committee

Call for papers

The European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) is an EU body with a mission to prevent and mitigate systemic risks to financial stability. The ESRB is chaired by the President of the European Central Bank, Mario Draghi, and its membership incorporates central banks and micro-prudential supervisors from across the EU.¹ The ESRB also comprises an Advisory Scientific Committee (ASC), formed by 15 academics and practitioners appointed for their financial expertise.²

Prize for Research on Systemic Risk

The ESRB's ASC will award a prize to recognise outstanding research conducted by young scholars on a topic related to the ESRB's mission. The annual prize has been established in memory of leke van den Burg, who was a member of the inaugural ASC between 2011 and 2014 and a member of the European Parliament between 1999 and 2009.³ Ms van den Burg was dedicated to the notion that finance should serve society, and this prize is administered in that spirit.

Age and Content Criteria

Applicants must be under 35 years old on 31 December 2014. Both single-authored and co-authored papers may be submitted for consideration, but all authors of a submitted paper must comply with the under-35 age requirement.

Applicants must submit a completed paper on a topic related to the ESRB's mission of preventing and mitigating systemic risks to financial stability. In particular, applications are invited from authors of papers covering at least one of the following topics:

¹ The EU regulation establishing the ESRB is available here: https://www.esrb.europa.eu/shared/pdf/ESRB-en.pdf.

² The current members of the ASC are: Marco Pagano (Chair), Martin Hellwig (Vice-Chair), André Sapir (Vice-Chair), Viral Acharya, Leszek Balcerowicz, Arnoud Boot, Markus Brunnermeier, Dario Focarelli, Alberto Giovannini, Daniel Gros, Ross Levine, Richard Portes, Dirk Schoenmaker and Charles Wyplosz. The list of ASC members is also available here: https://www.esrb.europa.eu/pub/pdf/other/list_of_ASC_members_2014.pdf.

³ The prize is envisaged to run annually for a period of five years, and will be reviewed after that time.



- the role of macro-prudential policy;
- regulatory issues in banking and finance;
- financial instability and performance of the real economy;
- · genesis of financial crises and identification of systemic risk;
- consumer protection in financial markets.

Prize Award

The ASC will select the winning paper, based on its judgement of the paper which represents an outstanding contribution to a topic of interest and relevance to the ESRB. The author(s) of the winning paper may be invited to present their research to the ASC.

The prize amounts to €5,000, and is intended to support the research activities of the recipient(s). This total cash award is the same for single- and co-authored papers.

Submission

Applications should be submitted by email to ESRB-ASC_Prize@ecb.europa.eu and Sam.Langfield@ecb.int. The application should consist of (i) a completed paper; and (ii) a scanned copy of the passport or identification card of all of the paper's authors. The two attachments should be in .pdf format. All personal data will be processed in accordance with EU Data Protection Law (Regulation EC No. 45/2001).⁴

The deadline for applications is 15 February 2015.

⁴ Personal data will be used exclusively for selecting a paper to be awarded the prize. The ESRB shall be identified as controller for the processing of personal data related to this selection procedure, and the Head of the ESRB Secretariat as the function in charge of the unit entrusted with the processing. Candidates have a right to access their data and to update or correct their identification data and are entitled to have recourse at any time to the European Data Protection Supervisor (for further information please refer to the Decision ESRB/2012/1 of the European Systemic Risk Board of 13 July 2012 implementing rules on data protection at the European Systemic Risk Board, Official Journal C286 of 22.9.2012, p. 16).